PDA

View Full Version : Please fill in my survey

sarah_katlea
14-05-10, 05:12
Hi everyone,

Please fill in my survey about linguistics. It only takes few minutes. Here it is the survey:

Discourse Completion Task (DCT)

A Comparative Study on Compliment Responses in English by Indonesian Learners and Native Speakers of English

Hello, my name is Devana Syara. I am a fourth year student of the English Department, Faculty of Cultural Sciences, Gadjah Mada University. I am going to do research on compliment responses in English by Indonesian learners and native speakers of English as my graduating paper. I need your participation to give responses on the compliment sentences in this study. Please complete the general information before you start giving responses to the compliment sentences below.
General Information:
1. Please do not write your name in this questionnaire.
2. Please circle the appropriate answer for the question below:
.2.1. Are you male or female?
A. Female B. Male
.2.2. How old are you?
A. < 20 B. 20-30 C. 31-40 D. >40
.2.3. Have you done any courses related to sociolinguistics or pragmatics before?
A. No, I have not B. Yes, I have
.2.4.What is your first language?
.2.5. Where do you come from?

Please read the text carefully. Imagine the situation and then write down the response you would like to make for the situation. Please try to write down naturally what you would say as if you are taking part in a conversation.

Situation 1
Imagine you are a mother. You cook your son’s favorite food. Your son is very pleased and compliments you. What would be your response?
Son : “It’s very delicious mom!”
You :

Situation 2
You are a professor. One day, you fluently deliver your speech in seminar. You get a warm applause from the audiences. At the end of seminar, an audience you have not met before praises your speech. What would be your response?
An audience : “That was very inspirational speech!”
You :

Situation 3